ICM2010 — opening ceremony in brief

The laudationes start in half an hour, so all I have time for is a few headlines (though you will almost certainly have these from other sources).

The Fields medals went to Elon Lindenstrauss, Ngô Bảo Châu, Stanislav Smirnov and Cedric Villani. The Nevanlinna prize was awarded to Dan Spielman. The Gauss prize went to Yves Meyer and the Chern medal was given to Louis Nirenberg. The Laudationes for the Fields medals and Nevanlinna prize will be given by Hillel Furstenberg, Jim Arthur, Harry Kesten, Horng-Tzer Yau and Gil Kalai, respectively, and I’m looking forward to them. I’ll admit now that I was on the Fields medal committee — a difficult job, and moreover one that means that there are things that I cannot discuss on this blog (not that in any case I would like to engage publicly in discussions about whether the right decisions were made). What I can say is that the four people who have won Fields medals have spectacular achievements to their names.

Other interesting news was that the next ICM will be in South Korea (in Seoul), that the next IMU president will be Ingrid Daubechies, the first woman to hold the post, and that if you type “ICM” into the IMU web page you can now find every single article that has ever appeared in an ICM proceedings, and that this database is searchable.

I’ll describe the opening ceremony in more detail in my next post. I’ll include a description of what the prizewinners were wearing. (If you look up Cedric Villani in Google images, you’ll see that this is a more interesting question than you might at first think.)

That’s it for the time being.

10 Responses to “ICM2010 — opening ceremony in brief”

  1. DTML Says:

    A typo: “Ngo Bao Chau” not “Bau”. In Vietnamese: Ngô Bảo

    • gowers Says:

      Thank you very much for pointing that out. It was indeed a typo rather than a misconception, and now I’ve corrected it.

  2. DTML Says:

    Sorry the last word was cut from the comment and I don’t know why. It should be

    Ngô Bảo Châu

  3. ICM 2010 Índia 17-27 Agosto – Congresso Internacional de Matemáticos « problemas | teoremas Says:

    […] ICM2010 — opening ceremony in brief […]

  4. 2010 Fields Medals, Lindenstrauss, Ngo, Smirnov, Villani: Video « viXra log Says:

    […] a commentary on the ceremony from somebody who was there and on the Fields Medal committee, try Gowers’s Weblog . Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Fwd: 131(11): Short Introduction to Dave […]

  5. Consolation Prize « Log24 Says:

    […] FIelds medal winners were announced today at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Hyderabad, […]

  6. Gossip « Not Even Wrong Says:

    […] this is that of Timothy Gowers, who was on the committee that picked the Fields medal winners, and promises to tell us about Cedric Villani’s […]

  7. La velocidad del desorden y el flujo del agua, premiados por el ICM « El Bolígrafo Says:

    […] ICM2010 – opening ceremony in brief (gowers.wordpress.com) […]

  8. ICM2014 « Út V. Lê Says:

    […] ICM2010 – opening ceremony in brief (gowers.wordpress.com) […]

  9. ICM 2010 Awards « Chengchun Hao's Weblog Says:

    […] ICM2010 – opening ceremony in brief (gowers.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: